Mirage Source
http://web.miragesource.net/forums/

anything AT ALL?
http://web.miragesource.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=193&t=4816
Page 1 of 2

Author:  genusis [ Tue Dec 02, 2008 2:14 pm ]
Post subject:  anything AT ALL?

has anyone found any more errors or issues with the newest source update of ms4?

if so please post it even if you fixed it yourself please post the problem and the fix.

thank you ! ^^

Author:  scarra3 [ Tue Dec 02, 2008 11:14 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: anything AT ALL?

I havent found any problems with it at this moment in time but ill keep looking

Author:  genusis [ Sat Dec 06, 2008 10:05 am ]
Post subject:  Re: anything AT ALL?

just report problems when you find them till them got to look at a way to optimize ms4 even more...

Author:  Tony [ Sat Dec 06, 2008 2:53 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: anything AT ALL?

Is it really a eye opener? I've used it but haven't really gone through the entire source.

Author:  Tayuke [ Sun Dec 07, 2008 9:57 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: anything AT ALL?

I know's its probaly just me and my lack of knowledge, but I can't seem to get the logs to actually log anything on either side (Client/Server). Any help here?

Author:  Labmonkey [ Sun Dec 07, 2008 11:45 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: anything AT ALL?

In the server, the 3rd tab has a checkbox for logs. Turn it on.

Author:  Tayuke [ Mon Dec 08, 2008 12:01 am ]
Post subject:  Re: anything AT ALL?

Labmonkey wrote:
In the server, the 3rd tab has a checkbox for logs. Turn it on.


I did, but reguardless it still doesn't work <_< It must be me...or something...

Author:  genusis [ Mon Dec 08, 2008 2:35 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: anything AT ALL?

what version of ms4 are you currently using? try restarting the client and server see if that help too. if not post again and i will look into it ^^.

Author:  Tayuke [ Mon Dec 08, 2008 10:39 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: anything AT ALL?

genusis wrote:
what version of ms4 are you currently using? try restarting the client and server see if that help too. if not post again and i will look into it ^^.


I called the ServerLog in FormLoad and it works <_< I don't why it wouldn't work if I just checked/unchecked the box, but its all good now...

Author:  Tayuke [ Tue Dec 09, 2008 12:05 am ]
Post subject:  Re: anything AT ALL?

Ok, now I've really found an error: It seems the latest version doesn't want to use all my tileset, and cuts my so I only see half of my tiles for use in the MapEditor. Something in the code must not be set right...

Author:  Nean [ Tue Dec 09, 2008 5:11 am ]
Post subject:  Re: anything AT ALL?

Heres a few bugs that could be fixed.

Trying to destroy a banlist after it's been destroyed, gives you a RTE. Do a file exist function check, to make sure you're not trying to destroy nothing.

Also, you can demote people of the same access of you. If that's the case, having it so you can't kick the same level access of you is futile, as you could demote them first then kick/ban them. These are both EXTREMELY easy to fix though.

Author:  GIAKEN [ Tue Dec 09, 2008 5:22 am ]
Post subject:  Re: anything AT ALL?

Here's some optimizations...

Code:
If Not IsConnected Then InGame = Not InGame


Should be:

Code:
InGame =IsConnected


And here's this:

Code:
Private Function NeedToRestoreSurfaces() As Boolean
   
    NeedToRestoreSurfaces = True
   
    If DD.TestCooperativeLevel = DD_OK Then NeedToRestoreSurfaces = False
   
End Function

Author:  GIAKEN [ Tue Dec 09, 2008 5:02 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: anything AT ALL?

Also this:

Code:
If GetTickCount > MapAnimTimer + 250 Then
                If MapAnim = 0 Then
                    MapAnim = 1
                Else
                    MapAnim = 0
                End If
                MapAnimTimer = GetTickCount
            End If


Could be this:

Code:
If GetTickCount > MapAnimTimer + 250 Then
                MapAnim = Not MapAnim
                MapAnimTimer = GetTickCount
            End If

Author:  Nean [ Tue Dec 09, 2008 10:11 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: anything AT ALL?

Also, I noticed that the For... Next Loops have the counter after the Next. So like Next I. Apparently it's faster not to have the variable counter after the next.

Author:  GIAKEN [ Tue Dec 09, 2008 10:58 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: anything AT ALL?

Also there's a lot of dead code. Use CodeSmart and it will scan your project. You can then click the review lines and it'll take you to your dead code. This way you can see if it's right...and I don't like to let programs do stuff to my projects, so that's why I like it.

Author:  genusis [ Tue Dec 09, 2008 11:08 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: anything AT ALL?

0.o ok ill get on it lol. thanks guys.

Author:  GIAKEN [ Tue Dec 09, 2008 11:33 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: anything AT ALL?

Ew I just noticed something.

All your timers in the gameloop should match this format:

Code:
If MapAnimTimer < Tick Then

MapAnimTimer = Tick + 250
End If


And FPS:

Code:
If TickFPS < Tick Then
            GameFPS = FPS
            TickFPS = Tick + 1000
            FPS = 0
        Else
            FPS = FPS + 1
        End If

Author:  GIAKEN [ Wed Dec 10, 2008 2:55 am ]
Post subject:  Re: anything AT ALL?

And HighIndexOnMapwhatever is still bugging. You need to test it...

Author:  genusis [ Wed Dec 10, 2008 4:51 am ]
Post subject:  Re: anything AT ALL?

Quote:
If MapAnimTimer < Tick Then

MapAnimTimer = Tick + 250
End If


has been modified as well as the admin access stuff added
all the next i x and y have been modified and it did speed it up =].

ban list error fixed

I'm looking into the tileset error and HighIndexOnMap.

Anything else?

edit:

there is nothing wrong with the tileset stuff it should automatically detect the size of your tilesheet.

and gakien on Sever side find

UpdateHighIndex()

change

Code:
If TotalPlayersOnline = 0 Then
        High_Index = 1
        Exit Sub
    End If


to

Code:
If TotalPlayersOnline < 1 Then
        High_Index = 1
        Exit Sub
    End If


tell me if that works?

Added the DX change form you too ^^

Author:  GIAKEN [ Wed Dec 10, 2008 6:22 am ]
Post subject:  Re: anything AT ALL?

Here's some more stuff:

Code:
Public Function FileExist(ByVal FileName As String, Optional RAW As Boolean = False) As Boolean
    FileExist = True
    If Not RAW Then
        If LenB(Dir$(App.Path & "\" & FileName)) = 0 Then FileExist = False
    Else
        If LenB(Dir$(FileName)) = 0 Then FileExist = False
    End If
End Function


Code:
Function IsTryingToMove() As Boolean
    If DirUp Or DirDown Or DirLeft Or DirRight Then IsTryingToMove = True
End Function


Also I read somewhere it wasn't good to use commas when dim'ing like this:

Code:
Dim n As Long, i As Long

Author:  Jacob [ Wed Dec 10, 2008 2:41 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: anything AT ALL?

GIAKEN wrote:

Also I read somewhere it wasn't good to use commas when dim'ing like this:

Code:
Dim n As Long, i As Long


I've never seen that, but I have seen people dim like this thinking it's dimming both variables as long.
Code:
Dim n, i As Long

Author:  GIAKEN [ Thu Dec 11, 2008 2:06 am ]
Post subject:  Re: anything AT ALL?

Haha wow. Found this in the server just now:

Code:
        Case CQuit
            HandleAttack Index
            HandleQuit Index

Author:  deathknight [ Thu Dec 11, 2008 2:59 am ]
Post subject:  Re: anything AT ALL?

Not sure were to post this, but I noticed that if you are mapping, and place a warp tile, and step on it, not only does it not warp you, it completely freezes you. The only way you can move again is to go in and delete the warp tile and send the map.

We could probably have it so that instead of it freezing us, it brings up a message box asking if we want to save, and if we do, then warps us to where it is (kind of like how it happens when you change maps).

Author:  genusis [ Thu Dec 11, 2008 1:20 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: anything AT ALL?

Dugor wrote:
GIAKEN wrote:

Also I read somewhere it wasn't good to use commas when dim'ing like this:

Code:
Dim n As Long, i As Long


I've never seen that, but I have seen people dim like this thinking it's dimming both variables as long.
Code:
Dim n, i As Long

i read that same exact thing some where XD. better of safe than stupid i always say lol.

Code:
Public Function FileExist(ByVal FileName As String, Optional RAW As Boolean = False) As Boolean
    FileExist = True
    If Not RAW Then
        If LenB(Dir$(App.Path & "\" & FileName)) = 0 Then FileExist = False
    Else
        If LenB(Dir$(FileName)) = 0 Then FileExist = False
    End If
End Function

this is slow as hell drops the fps down by 20 or more.

Code:
Function IsTryingToMove() As Boolean
    If DirUp Or DirDown Or DirLeft Or DirRight Then IsTryingToMove = True
End Function
you forgot and end if but this is ok =].

Author:  Mellowz [ Thu Dec 11, 2008 2:30 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: anything AT ALL?

You don't need an End If if it's all on the same line. >_>

Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/