Mirage Source

Free ORPG making software.
It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 7:32 am

All times are UTC

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 253 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 11  Next
 Post subject: Declare Binary DataType
PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 11:00 pm 
Regular

I have a few of questions

1. Can you declare a Binary DataType?

2. Why is boolean bigger than byte?

3. whats the smallest data type?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 11:08 pm 
Community Leader

Google Talk: Darunada@gmail.com
Boolean is a binary datatype.

The reason boolean is bigger than byte is because True = -1. One byte to make it negative, one byte to store the 1. Stupid, I know.

I posted a tutorial for Bitfields. This effectivly lets you store 8 boolean values in a byte. Search it.

I am a professional software developer in Salt Lake City, UT.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 11:38 pm 
Regular

kwl thx!

also can u save memory and packet lag by changing sep_char and end_char to s_c and e_c?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 11:40 pm 
Regular

or using a symbol like !@ and !#

sry for double post...

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 11:45 pm 
Pro

SEP_CHAR and END_CHAR just represent different ASCII characters that would never be used normally. Basically as soon as the server sees them, it knows to either divide them up, or that it has found the very end of them. If you want to save memory and bandwidth, look at Byte Array packets.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 11:46 pm 
Community Leader

Google Talk: Darunada@gmail.com
Sorry, Sep_Char and End_char are just names for a non-ascii character (a single character)

You can't really make it smaller.

I am a professional software developer in Salt Lake City, UT.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 9:11 am 
Knowledgeable

Obsidian wrote:
If you want to save memory and bandwidth, look at Byte Array packets.