Mirage Source

Free ORPG making software.
It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 2:25 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 148 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Password Rich text
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2007 10:46 am 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 4:47 pm
Posts: 24
Google Talk: teamenferno
Greetings.

I can't find the option to make a rich text box hide the password (using William's transparent Rich Text box tutorial. Thanks).

Am I blind or it doesn't exist? Should I get a font with * to hide the password?

FirZen


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Password Rich text
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2007 11:06 am 
Offline
Submit-Happy
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 7:01 am
Posts: 2768
Location: Yorkshire, UK
If it doesn't have a passwordcharacter field, just print it to screen or use a label, and make a quick sub to replace all the character with *'s.

That's what I do on NR.

_________________
Quote:
Robin:
Why aren't maps and shit loaded up in a dynamic array?
Jacob:
the 4 people that know how are lazy
Robin:
Who are those 4 people?
Jacob:
um
you, me, and 2 others?


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Password Rich text
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2007 11:24 am 
Offline
Community Leader
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 1:00 pm
Posts: 2538
Location: Sweden
Google Talk: johansson_tk@hotmail.com
Why do you want to use a RTB? To make it transparent? If so, thats the only reason.

And you will have to program the password chars, store what you type in a variable and show the * from the Len() of the text etc..

_________________
I'm on Facebook!My Youtube Channel Send me an email
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Password Rich text
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2007 1:14 pm 
I think MS uses RTB by default so you can change the colors. I've never checked or even tried to change the colors of a normal text box, so I'm not sure.

I really need to install VB on here again.. /sigh


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Password Rich text
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2007 2:47 pm 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 4:47 pm
Posts: 24
Google Talk: teamenferno
The fact is, the rich text box is invisible, the GUI itself has the borders.
This is more of a looks question.

In text I understand what you mean. In code, no idea. I'll look into it.

Store whats typed in a VAR. Instead of sending the actual value of the textbox, when pressing OK/Login, send the variable?
And replace every character in the text box for wildcards?

The Call MenuState(MENU_STATE_LOGIN) refers to a sub in the Server's project, right? I'll have to look in the server and edit stuff there?

Lets see if I get the var/change part:
My way of showign code:

On txtPassword change:
varINPUT = txtPassword.Caption
Right?

But if I change the letters to * while doing this, won't the variable save *?

FirZen


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Password Rich text
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2007 2:53 pm 
Offline
Pro
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 3:26 pm
Posts: 493
Location: São Paulo, Brasil
Google Talk: blackagesbr@gmail.com
Use OnKeyPress method, but make sure you handle with backspace and delete.

_________________
http://www.blackages.com.br
Image
Dave wrote:
GameBoy wrote:
www.FreeMoney.com
I admit I clicked. I immediately closed upon realizing there was, in fact, no free money.
Robin wrote:
I love you and your computer.Marry me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Password Rich text
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2007 3:10 pm 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 4:47 pm
Posts: 24
Google Talk: teamenferno
That would record the last key pressed, not the caption...

How does that work?
Enter and Backspace are handled differently?
I do not have the MSDN, so I don't know how to work with OnKeyPress. Can you hint me out?

FirZen


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Password Rich text
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2007 3:13 pm 
Offline
Pro
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 3:26 pm
Posts: 493
Location: São Paulo, Brasil
Google Talk: blackagesbr@gmail.com
OnKeyPress gives you the ascii character of the letter, just add that to the variable and change the caption to len(variable) times *

_________________
http://www.blackages.com.br
Image
Dave wrote:
GameBoy wrote:
www.FreeMoney.com
I admit I clicked. I immediately closed upon realizing there was, in fact, no free money.
Robin wrote:
I love you and your computer.Marry me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Password Rich text
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2007 3:24 pm 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 4:47 pm
Posts: 24
Google Talk: teamenferno
I see.

Can Len() be used as a var or do I need to store it as a var first?
No problems with Backspace or do I need extra attention on that one?

As you can see, never coded in VB.

FirZen


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Password Rich text
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2007 3:27 pm 
Offline
Pro
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 3:26 pm
Posts: 493
Location: São Paulo, Brasil
Google Talk: blackagesbr@gmail.com
Len() is a function, like in any other language, it return the value, so yes, it can be used as a variable, no need to store. And for the back space, you'll need to make an If statement and remove the last letter. Use Mid and Len functions together, if you don't know this function, google it ^^

_________________
http://www.blackages.com.br
Image
Dave wrote:
GameBoy wrote:
www.FreeMoney.com
I admit I clicked. I immediately closed upon realizing there was, in fact, no free money.
Robin wrote:
I love you and your computer.Marry me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Password Rich text
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2007 3:39 pm 
Offline
Community Leader
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 10:29 pm
Posts: 1762
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Google Talk: Darunada@gmail.com
Go into the form view.
Click once on the text box.
Scroll down the Properties box and find "Password Char"
Enter "*" as the value


Game Over man.

_________________
I'm on Facebook! Google Plus LinkedIn My Youtube Channel Send me an email Call me with Skype Check me out on Bitbucket Yup, I'm an EVE Online player!
Why not try my app, ColorEye, on your Android devlce?
Do you like social gaming? Fight it out in Battle Juice!

I am a professional software developer in Salt Lake City, UT.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Password Rich text
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2007 3:51 pm 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 4:47 pm
Posts: 24
Google Talk: teamenferno
Its a Rich Text box.

FirZen


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Password Rich text
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2007 4:43 pm 
Offline
Community Leader
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 10:29 pm
Posts: 1762
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Google Talk: Darunada@gmail.com
You shouldn't need a rich text box for this, or find a rich text box control on PSC that supports it.

_________________
I'm on Facebook! Google Plus LinkedIn My Youtube Channel Send me an email Call me with Skype Check me out on Bitbucket Yup, I'm an EVE Online player!
Why not try my app, ColorEye, on your Android devlce?
Do you like social gaming? Fight it out in Battle Juice!

I am a professional software developer in Salt Lake City, UT.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Password Rich text
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2007 5:06 pm 
Offline
Submit-Happy
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 7:01 am
Posts: 2768
Location: Yorkshire, UK
He wants a transparent textbox so the GUI shows through.

I don't know what wrong with just printing the text or using a label and replacing the string with the same amount of *'s.

_________________
Quote:
Robin:
Why aren't maps and shit loaded up in a dynamic array?
Jacob:
the 4 people that know how are lazy
Robin:
Who are those 4 people?
Jacob:
um
you, me, and 2 others?


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Password Rich text
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2007 5:08 pm 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 4:47 pm
Posts: 24
Google Talk: teamenferno
you mean, showing the actual password? Dunno...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Password Rich text
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2007 5:09 pm 
Offline
Submit-Happy
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 7:01 am
Posts: 2768
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Robin wrote:
replacing the string with the same amount of *'s.


No. I mean creating your own password character replacer :roll:

_________________
Quote:
Robin:
Why aren't maps and shit loaded up in a dynamic array?
Jacob:
the 4 people that know how are lazy
Robin:
Who are those 4 people?
Jacob:
um
you, me, and 2 others?


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Password Rich text
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2007 5:20 pm 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 4:47 pm
Posts: 24
Google Talk: teamenferno
Won't that mess with the info sending?

No sig for 3 posts. You're lucky.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Password Rich text
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2007 6:30 pm 
Offline
Submit-Happy
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 7:01 am
Posts: 2768
Location: Yorkshire, UK
-sigh- You're going to store the password somewhere else, and then fill the textbox with *'s.

_________________
Quote:
Robin:
Why aren't maps and shit loaded up in a dynamic array?
Jacob:
the 4 people that know how are lazy
Robin:
Who are those 4 people?
Jacob:
um
you, me, and 2 others?


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Password Rich text
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2007 6:36 pm 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 4:47 pm
Posts: 24
Google Talk: teamenferno
yes I had that idea... Still working on it


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Password Rich text
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2007 6:38 pm 
Offline
Submit-Happy
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 7:01 am
Posts: 2768
Location: Yorkshire, UK
William wrote:
Why do you want to use a RTB? To make it transparent? If so, thats the only reason.

And you will have to program the password chars, store what you type in a variable and show the * from the Len() of the text etc..


Actually, William had that idea when you were still fumbling around with controls.

_________________
Quote:
Robin:
Why aren't maps and shit loaded up in a dynamic array?
Jacob:
the 4 people that know how are lazy
Robin:
Who are those 4 people?
Jacob:
um
you, me, and 2 others?


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Password Rich text
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2007 7:19 pm 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 4:47 pm
Posts: 24
Google Talk: teamenferno
its not the first time I code. Just the first time I do it in VB.

Already did some stuff with Pascal, GML (that's not even a coding language, is it?), C-Script...
C++ I think. But that was waaaaay too back.

So, I had that idea in my mind, just din't know how to put it into code. I was hoping someone came up with the same idea, but with better coding skills.

Eh, screw this. Nobody can play my game surrounded by people. Period.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Password Rich text
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2007 7:28 pm 
Um, if you use the RTB control, in the properties, isn't there a "Password Character" part where you set what key will show instead of what you type? O_o


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Password Rich text
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2007 7:30 pm 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 4:47 pm
Posts: 24
Google Talk: teamenferno
SP6?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Password Rich text
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2007 7:31 pm 
SP6? Huh..?


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Password Rich text
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2007 7:42 pm 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 4:47 pm
Posts: 24
Google Talk: teamenferno
Visual Basic Service Pack 6
Maybe the RTB has a password field in SP6.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 148 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group