Mirage Source

Free ORPG making software.
It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 5:06 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 69 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Another Question
PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2008 9:24 pm 
Offline
Regular

Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2008 5:53 pm
Posts: 39
How can I change the max exp given, HP, Strength etc. for NPC's?
I tried to change the max Exp given by just editing the NpcEditor.frm but that didnt work :P
I also read it had something to do with integers but I dont really understand that

Thanks In Advance

_________________
Help our city grow!: http://db-universe.myminicity.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Another Question
PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2008 9:30 pm 
Offline
Pro
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 3:26 pm
Posts: 493
Location: São Paulo, Brasil
Google Talk: blackagesbr@gmail.com
Integers are types of variables. You are probably trying to store a value too high for this variable to hold, so you can change it to Long so it will hold much more. Integers can hold values -32,768 to 32,767 and Longs can hold -2,147,483,648 to 2,147,483,647

_________________
http://www.blackages.com.br
Image
Dave wrote:
GameBoy wrote:
www.FreeMoney.com
I admit I clicked. I immediately closed upon realizing there was, in fact, no free money.
Robin wrote:
I love you and your computer.Marry me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Another Question
PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2008 9:44 pm 
Offline
Regular

Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2008 5:53 pm
Posts: 39
thanks for the help,

but where do I have to change that?
I looked for integer's but I couldnt find anything that looked like an integer for Max exp given or something

_________________
Help our city grow!: http://db-universe.myminicity.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Another Question
PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2008 10:17 pm 
Offline
Pro
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 3:20 am
Posts: 495
Location: California
Google Talk: Rezeyu@Gmail.com
It's calculated Server Side.

There's no static EXP/HP variable.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Another Question
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2008 12:00 am 
Offline
Knowledgeable
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 8:57 pm
Posts: 297
Location: This magical place called 'reality'
There are tutorials though -> You Set NPC Hp and EXP

(This website will be your friend -> http://www.sylphonline.com/enginefiles/)

_________________
P2B Feed: Custom AI
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Another Question
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2008 5:19 pm 
Offline
Regular

Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2008 5:53 pm
Posts: 39
ok thanks,

but I forgot to tell I'm using Elysium Diamond, I know, why don't i ask on the Elysium Forums then?
Well you guys seem more experienced coders and I thought that you guys here could help me better, so most of the tut's here don't work for me.
But thanks for the help and ill try to find out how to do it myself, unless someone is willing to make a tutorial for it :wink:
But thanks and good luck with your current projects

_________________
Help our city grow!: http://db-universe.myminicity.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Another Question
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2008 5:26 pm 
Offline
Knowledgeable
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2006 8:48 pm
Posts: 172
Location: Naiyo Region
Google Talk: matt.nwachukwu@gmail.com
ED is MS3.03 with alot of tuts.

If you find a tut here, you could use it on ED...

You'd just have to get a little change done here and there, maybe a variable that's defined here that's defined differently here. But it's simple...

If you need any additional help, PM me.

_________________
Image
みんな、見ていてくれ!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Another Question
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2008 5:38 pm 
Offline
Regular

Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2008 5:53 pm
Posts: 39
Wow, thanks for the fast response, and I knew that but that's why the tut above was hard to understand because a lot of it was already in the server, but thanks for the offer, but I don't really understand it so I'll probably ask so many that you could better write a tut.
Maybe if I change the scrollbar to a textbox? could that help or is that really hard to code.
( I know I cant just change the scrollbar to a textbox and im done)
But thanks for the help and the fast response

_________________
Help our city grow!: http://db-universe.myminicity.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Another Question
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2008 5:40 pm 
Offline
Knowledgeable
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2006 8:48 pm
Posts: 172
Location: Naiyo Region
Google Talk: matt.nwachukwu@gmail.com
A scroll bar... To a text box?

I don't understand that...

It's better you PM me and we talk on MSN or something...

I'm in school now, wont be home for another few hours.

_________________
Image
みんな、見ていてくれ!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Another Question
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2008 5:51 pm 
Offline
Regular

Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2008 5:53 pm
Posts: 39
Well, as you can see in the image, you have a scrollbar to change the value of the exp given or strength or anything.
I thought that maybe it was possible to change that to a textbox so you can just put in a number...
But that probably wont work or will be very hard to code.

Image

_________________
Help our city grow!: http://db-universe.myminicity.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Another Question
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2008 5:55 pm 
Offline
Submit-Happy
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 7:01 am
Posts: 2768
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Not really.

Code:
Value = Val(textbox.text)

_________________
Quote:
Robin:
Why aren't maps and shit loaded up in a dynamic array?
Jacob:
the 4 people that know how are lazy
Robin:
Who are those 4 people?
Jacob:
um
you, me, and 2 others?


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Another Question
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2008 6:04 pm 
Offline
Knowledgeable
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2006 8:48 pm
Posts: 172
Location: Naiyo Region
Google Talk: matt.nwachukwu@gmail.com
OH! I get what you mean.

That's really easy to do.

_________________
Image
みんな、見ていてくれ!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Another Question
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2008 7:17 pm 
Offline
Regular

Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2008 5:53 pm
Posts: 39
but then the max will still be around 32k right?
But if you're able to give as many health, exp given, etc as you wish with this, where to put it?
thanks for all the help you'll are giving me!

_________________
Help our city grow!: http://db-universe.myminicity.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Another Question
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2008 8:26 pm 
Offline
Pro
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 3:26 pm
Posts: 493
Location: São Paulo, Brasil
Google Talk: blackagesbr@gmail.com
Use a text box and a long variable xD

_________________
http://www.blackages.com.br
Image
Dave wrote:
GameBoy wrote:
www.FreeMoney.com
I admit I clicked. I immediately closed upon realizing there was, in fact, no free money.
Robin wrote:
I love you and your computer.Marry me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Another Question
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2008 8:55 pm 
Offline
Regular

Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2008 5:53 pm
Posts: 39
Ok, and how to set the Integers to Longs?

_________________
Help our city grow!: http://db-universe.myminicity.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Another Question
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2008 9:37 pm 
Offline
Knowledgeable
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 8:57 pm
Posts: 297
Location: This magical place called 'reality'
Public GiveEXP As Long...

_________________
P2B Feed: Custom AI
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Another Question
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2008 9:48 pm 
Offline
Knowledgeable
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2006 8:48 pm
Posts: 172
Location: Naiyo Region
Google Talk: matt.nwachukwu@gmail.com
Wow. If he's asking basic coding questions like that...

Hehe, we're here to help though. Ignore the sarcasm of everyone else! I suppose...

I dunno. Anyways, Integer is also a data type in VB. Be careful how you use it in talking to a bunch of vb programmers. :P

_________________
Image
みんな、見ていてくれ!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Another Question
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2008 9:51 pm 
Offline
Regular

Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2008 5:53 pm
Posts: 39
well, I thought of that but I couldnt find it, and yes I expected some sarcasm but let's face it.. I suck at coding, but you have to start somewhere

_________________
Help our city grow!: http://db-universe.myminicity.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Another Question
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2008 9:52 pm 
Offline
Knowledgeable
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2006 8:48 pm
Posts: 172
Location: Naiyo Region
Google Talk: matt.nwachukwu@gmail.com
Abyss wrote:
well, I thought of that but I couldnt find it, and yes I expected some sarcasm but let's face it.. I suck at coding, but you have to start somewhere


Don't worry. I was you like 5 years ago. xD

I'll be happy to help, as when I was learning no one wanted to help. Other than Hayloe. >.> And Hayloe is a stupid emo bitch with a life now. So, I hardly talk to him. xD

_________________
Image
みんな、見ていてくれ!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Another Question
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2008 9:54 pm 
Offline
Regular

Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2008 5:53 pm
Posts: 39
Thanks, and.. Lol :P

_________________
Help our city grow!: http://db-universe.myminicity.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Another Question
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:05 pm 
Offline
Knowledgeable
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 8:57 pm
Posts: 297
Location: This magical place called 'reality'
I suggest you start with MSE1. But, what the hell do I know...never used Elysium before...

_________________
P2B Feed: Custom AI
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Another Question
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2008 11:07 am 
Offline
Regular

Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2008 5:53 pm
Posts: 39
Elysium is better for beginners like me because that has a lot more features

_________________
Help our city grow!: http://db-universe.myminicity.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Another Question
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2008 1:20 pm 
Offline
Community Leader
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 10:29 pm
Posts: 1762
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Google Talk: Darunada@gmail.com
But it's also more cluttered and unorganized, harder to read, and more complex.

_________________
I'm on Facebook! Google Plus LinkedIn My Youtube Channel Send me an email Call me with Skype Check me out on Bitbucket Yup, I'm an EVE Online player!
Why not try my app, ColorEye, on your Android devlce?
Do you like social gaming? Fight it out in Battle Juice!

I am a professional software developer in Salt Lake City, UT.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Another Question
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2008 1:33 pm 
Offline
Knowledgeable
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2006 8:48 pm
Posts: 172
Location: Naiyo Region
Google Talk: matt.nwachukwu@gmail.com
Abyss wrote:
Elysium is better for beginners like me because that has a lot more features


For learning, you should use a simpler program.

Once you learn the basics, then go ahead and ADD the features yourself.

And if you're too lazy, then use Elysium. I know Elysium has more features than MSE, but I use MSE time and time again, because when you code something instead of having it there for you... You feel better about yourself. xD

If you're only using elysium because of the features, and you don't care about learning, use an Engine. Alot less hassle for both you and us.

_________________
Image
みんな、見ていてくれ!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Another Question
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2008 1:36 pm 
Offline
Regular

Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2008 5:53 pm
Posts: 39
I want to learn, but what I meant was: You don;t have to add all the things yourself and its a better engine to start with when you know nothing about coding, and im trying to learn VB6 now

_________________
Help our city grow!: http://db-universe.myminicity.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 69 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 75 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group