Mirage Source

Free ORPG making software.
It is currently Mon Nov 28, 2022 12:39 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Making Sprites 32/64
PostPosted: Thu Jun 01, 2006 9:12 pm 
Offline
Pro

Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 2:58 pm
Posts: 370
Originally posted by Misunderstood

This has been updated to work with the new MSE

Ok Find the for next loop which calls bltPlayer
Code:
' Blit out players
        For i = 1 To MAX_PLAYERS
              If IsPlaying(i) And GetPlayerMap(i) = GetPlayerMap(MyIndex) Then
                  Call BltPlayer(i)
              End If
        Next i


Now copy it, we need to make another sub to blt the top of the player, this way it will be above other players bottoms.
We need to make a new loop instead of adding just another sub in the first one, because otherwise if there was a player ontop of your player, which was bltted after you in the loop, it will show ontop of your head, and thats not cool.

So make it look like this:

Code:
' Blit out players top
        For i = 1 To MAX_PLAYERS
              If IsPlaying(i) And GetPlayerMap(i) = GetPlayerMap(MyIndex) Then
                  Call BltPlayerTop(i)
              End If
        Next i


(it goes right after the other loop if you hadnt figured that out)

Now we need to make the sub.

Copy the bltPlayer Sub
Paste the bltPlayer Sub right below there
Rename it bltPlayerTop

Find this if statement in the BltPlayerTop Sub, its something like:

Code:
If y < 0 then
    y = 0
    With Rec
        .top = .top + (Y * -1)
    End With
end if


Change it to this:

Code:
y = y - 32
    If y < 0 And y > -32 Then
        With Rec
              .top = .top - y
              y = 0
        End With   
    End If


This blts it 1 tile higher then normal.

Now go to the BltPlayer sub
Find:

Code:
.top = GetPlayerSprite(Index) * PIC_Y



Make it:
Code:
.Top = GetPlayerSprite(Index) * PIC_Y + PIC_Y



This takes one block down from the top of the sprite

Oh yea, in both of the subs, add a * 2 after the getplayersprite(index) in the rec.top line, this make it so each block of 2 is thought of as 1 sprite.

you dont really NEED it though.

Oh, and for the names...
Go to the BltPlayerName sub and find the texty = whatever and change it to:
Code:
TextY = GetPlayerY(Index) * PIC_Y + Player(Index).YOffset + 28 '(or-4 + pic_y)



Or if you want the name to show up above the player(the one there ^ makes it below) make it this:

Code:
TextY = GetPlayerY(Index) * PIC_Y + Player(Index).YOffset - 50 '(or-4 -  pic_y - pic_y/2)


Now you will probably have to change other things, like for the npcs if you want them like that too. Or whatever.
If I missed something in here let me know.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 7:39 pm 
Offline
Knowledgeable
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 12:11 am
Posts: 120
Ok what about if I want some npcs 32*32 and some 96*96 npcs?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 7:54 pm 
Offline
Persistant Poster
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 2:07 am
Posts: 836
Location: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Google Talk: rs.ruggles@gmail.com
This cover players only.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 7:57 pm 
Offline
Pro

Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 1:40 pm
Posts: 430
The hope is that you can see how it is done for players and are able to modify it to work in other scenarios....such as with npcs.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 7:58 pm 
Offline
Knowledgeable
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 12:11 am
Posts: 120
I mean is it possible have to different sizes for npcs?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 8:00 pm 
Offline
Submit-Happy
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 7:01 am
Posts: 2768
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Of course it is. Practically anything is possible!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 8:03 pm 
Offline
Pro

Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 1:40 pm
Posts: 430
Yes, its not very hard, I think its even in elysium.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 8:05 pm 
Offline
Persistant Poster
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 2:07 am
Posts: 836
Location: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Google Talk: rs.ruggles@gmail.com
Completely possible, but would require adding a couple more variables to the NPCs and adding some options to the npc editor


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 8:35 pm 
Offline
Knowledgeable

Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2006 8:20 pm
Posts: 158
woah, sonire, it's not impossible... it just means a menu selection of 64 and so on sizes, and having diff sprite sheets for diff sizes....

_________________
Fallen Phoenix Online:
An online game world based on the Harry Potter books
www.fallenphoenix.org


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 8:36 pm 
Sonire wrote:
Completely possible, but would require adding a couple more variables to the NPCs and adding some options to the npc editor


He didn't say impossible. Please, read through it, don't just skim the posts.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 8:42 pm 
Offline
Knowledgeable

Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2006 8:20 pm
Posts: 158
Advocate wrote:
Sonire wrote:
Completely possible, but would require adding a couple more variables to the NPCs and adding some options to the npc editor


He didn't say impossible. Please, read through it, don't just skim the posts.


hey, leave me alone... i'm tipsy!!! i misread it :P

_________________
Fallen Phoenix Online:
An online game world based on the Harry Potter books
www.fallenphoenix.org


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 9:12 pm 
Offline
Submit-Happy
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 7:01 am
Posts: 2768
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Tosuxo wrote:
woah, sonire, it's not impossible... it just means a menu selection of 64 and so on sizes, and having diff sprite sheets for diff sizes....


LoL. If you can do it, I think Sonire can xD


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 9:42 pm 
Offline
Knowledgeable

Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2006 8:20 pm
Posts: 158
Kite wrote:
Tosuxo wrote:
woah, sonire, it's not impossible... it just means a menu selection of 64 and so on sizes, and having diff sprite sheets for diff sizes....


LoL. If you can do it, I think Sonire can xD


i'm tempted to try and finish my player housing tutorial whilst drunk.... *giggles* :P

_________________
Fallen Phoenix Online:
An online game world based on the Harry Potter books
www.fallenphoenix.org


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 14, 2006 10:30 pm 
Offline
Regular
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2006 6:48 pm
Posts: 29
Location: Halifax, NS, Cananda
Adding the name above the player doesn't work. The name stays on the top tile even when the player is on a lower tile.

Nevermind, I just made a stupid mistake >.<

_________________
-RyanBlandin-


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 3:02 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 2:03 am
Posts: 19
When i add this, only the top part of my sprites show and the bottom does not. Anyone know why this is like this?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 3:36 pm 
Offline
Knowledgeable
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 11:38 am
Posts: 293
Location: Cambridge, UK
Are you using the right sized sprites? Are you using MSE? two possible errors there :)

_________________
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 4:41 pm 
If you're using sprite number 0, try changing it to 1.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 9:34 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 2:03 am
Posts: 19
Ok i got that part working but now only the even number of sprites work. Like, 0 will show it all, but sprite 1 will show the bottom of sprite 0 and the top of sprite 2. Anyone know how to fix this?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 10:21 pm 
Offline
Persistant Poster
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 2:07 am
Posts: 836
Location: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Google Talk: rs.ruggles@gmail.com
That's just the way the tut works. It's not like only 50% of your 32x64 NPCs work. They all work, you've just gotta odd numbers only.

_________________
I'm on Facebook! Google Plus My Youtube Channel My Steam Profile

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 10:48 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 2:03 am
Posts: 19
o ok thanks. Thats all i needed.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 2:52 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 2:03 am
Posts: 19
Ok anyone know how to make the sprite check by 64 instead of 32 on the sprite sheet? Not like it does in the script, where it goes sprit 0, sprite 4, ect. but where u can actually go spite 0, srite 1, sprite 2, ect.

Dos anyone know how to make it do this or can tell me what to change to do it?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2007 10:31 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 10:14 pm
Posts: 10
Location: somwhere
is this server side or client side? (i came from elysium so i am not as technicly minded as all of you)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2007 10:48 pm 
Offline
Pro

Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 1:40 pm
Posts: 430
client side, since the client deals with all of the user interface aspects(although some UI tweaks also need to modify things serverside).

This tut is all clientside though


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2007 10:49 pm 
Offline
Regular

Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 4:46 am
Posts: 34
kakashi wrote:
is this server side or client side? (i came from elysium so i am not as technicly minded as all of you)

Client-side; if it has to do with purely graphics and nothing else it's usually client side :)

_________________
http://www.createammorpg.com - Resources for making your online games
http://www.vbgore.com - vbGORE - Revolutionizing VB ORPG Development


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2007 11:05 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 10:14 pm
Posts: 10
Location: somwhere
ok now i can implement it and try to find a paperdoll tutorial for it
*first some thing to eat then i will implement it i'm thinking pizza LOL*
EDIT: what i can't spell so sue me (need a time to sue me try half past never)


Last edited by kakashi on Mon Apr 16, 2007 10:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group